Hoist!

23 Jan

Yesterday as part of Nic‘s birthday extravaganza, I went rock-climbing for the first time in, mmm, gosh I really am getting old now (that’s code for ‘more than 10 years’). In any case, after a while I came to the realisation that I was really having quite a lot of fun climbing up very tall walls, in spite of the fact that my fingers were protesting loudly that they’d rather be with a keyboard, my forearms were rythmically shaking from adrenaline, and the toes on my right foot were all occupying the same 2 centimeters at the end of my climbing shoe.

So now I think it would be kind of fun to go climbing again on a semi-regular basis. My forearms, shoulders and back will thank me, in time.

In other news, I woke up last night to some strange noises, noted that the time was exactly 2:00 am, and got up to do the perimeter shuffle. I heard some more strange poping noises and something that looked a bit like fireworks. After a while the fireworks didn’t stop though, so I went outside and discoved one of the street lamps near our house on fire. The neighbours were up too. It was kind of like a block pajama party, except that everyone quietly shuffled off inside when the fire department arrived.

One Response to “Hoist!”

  1. Nic 30 January, 2006 at 9:45 am #

    That climbing stuff is terribly exhausting for non-primed muscles. Quite an adrenalin rush though!

Leave a Reply

